History of Radiography Dept

The need for a degree programme in medical radiography and Radiological Sciences arose when the two hitherto existing schools of radiography in Lagos and Ibadan could no longer attract students’ into the diploma course. The B.Sc. programme in radiography was started in the University of Calabar as a four year programme in 1980/81 sessions but later extended to 5 year  programme following the N.U.C. recommendation.  University of Nigeria  started its radiography programme in 1983.  With its radiography programme started in 2004,  Nnamdi Azikiwe University is the fourth University in Nigeria offering  radiography programme.